UK Orders over £100  get FREE SHIPPING!  Details


John James In Concert


John James In Concert

Get this CD NOW for only $11.98 and start listening in minutes! No waiting or shipping charges! Click here for instructions -- or simply open your SGGW On Demand Catalog!

Tell a Friend



Have you seen this: John James In Concert on
Captcha Image

John James In Concert

£10.00 £10.00

Item #sggw146

The British folk club scene is a fairly huge and unique underground institution. At any time since the early 1960's you would have been able to find a thousand or so weekly or monthly clubs gathering in all sizes of pub rooms around the land and in the Universities and colleges. In the great majority of these the guitar has been the commonest instrument; picked, strummed, thrashed and caressed in a multitude of styles and levels of competence. Fashions and fads come and go, but certain players have such a widespread influence that their own styles become part of the mainstream... When I heard the tapes of this album it impressed me as the essential John James. Probably because he was a working musician, that is, I never felt that his earlier studio albums (except for "Sky In My Pie" with Peter Berryman) did him full justice. His recent Kicking Mule debut "Descriptive Guitar Instrumentals" was probably the first to really showcase what a lively, fluent, creative and dynamic player he really is. This one not only does all that but really catches the essence of a John James performance. I'm a great believer in albums which truly represent the artist and if you've never seen John "live" you can take my word for it that this one does. What's more, it has a real cross section of the favorite tunes and songs from his stage repertoire over the past decade, plus a selection of newer goodies to join that company. – Ian Anderson/FolkRoots

Track Listing: (click on tracks for mp3 sound samples)
1. Picture Rags
2. Opus 18
3. Silver Swan
4. Suitcase Shaped Like That
5. Black And White Rag
6. Rosebud March
7. How Can I Tell You
8. Pickles And Peppers
9. Ragtime Millionaire
10. Head In The Clouds
11. Coconut Dance
12. Victory Rag
13. You And I Across The Water
14. B Minor Run
15. Tears
16. You Got Something There

This product has no related products.

Hot sellers & New Releases